About The Chamber

Our Mission Statement

To improve the overall business climate for our members and quality of life for the community through sponsorship of programs which promote civic and economic development, stimulate growth, and support relevant political action.

The Carthage Chamber of Commerce is a private, non-profit organization devoted to enhancing and supporting new and existing businesses in the community.

Since its incorporation in 1932, the Chamber has served as a mainstay for its members, uniting hundreds of businesses and professional firms, plus dozens of business-minded individuals to create a unified voice working to improve    business and build a stronger community. The Carthage Chamber also focuses on creating jobs by stimulating economic growth, and promoting quality of life for the entire community. 

To further enhance the Chamber's mission, the Board of Directors formulates a Program of Work which details our goal-oriented projects each year.  Committees are then assigned these goals based on areas of interest.  Each committee contains a chairperson and several Chamber members to provide direction and assist in the committee's tasks. Call the Chamber at (417) 358-2373 or by email at info@carthagechamber.com for more information on how you can become involved in these dynamic committees.

Board of Directors

  • Paul Eckels - Chairman
  • Elizabeth Simmons - Vice Chair
  • Jeannette Clem - Treasurer
  • Becky Andrews
  • Jenny Brust
  • Kris Esch
  • Robert Goar
  • Reed Hoagland
  • John Lenahan
  • Jade Reed
  • Matt Sappington
  • Scott Watson

Board Liasons

  • Abi Almandinger - Vision Carthage
  • Stephanie Howard - Carthage Water & Electric
  • Dustin Ledford - Carthage Ministerial Alliance
  • Callie Myers - Carthage CVB
  • Seth Thompson - Carthage City Council

Ex-Officio Members

  • Mark J. Elliff - Carthage Chamber of Commerce
  • Tom Flanigan - Jasper Co. Commission
  • Roy Mason - Past Chairman
  • Dan Rife - City of Carthage Mayor
  • Gregg Wolf - Assistant Superintendent Carthage R-9 School District

Chamber Staff

  • Mark J. Elliff - President & CEO
  • Neely Myers - Director of Membership & Marketing
  • Sally Currence - Executive Assistant & Office Manager