July 5th, 2017

FEMA Private Sector Advisory

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to individuals and families in 27 Missouri counties to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding from April 28, 2017 to May 11, 2017.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, and Texas counties.
Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Please see “Press Release” for additional information.

Register with FEMA as Soon as Possible

The Federal Emergency Management Agency urges residents of the 27 Missouri counties designated in the federal major disaster declaration to register with the agency without delay. Registration is easy:
• Go online to
• Use the FEMA app for smartphones.
• Call 800-621-FEMA (3362) between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. CST. Multilingual registration assistance is available. People who use 711 or Video Relay Services may call 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those who use TTY may call 800-462-7585.

Eligible homeowners and renters may be able to receive money for disaster expenses not covered by insurance to help pay for basic home repairs, temporary rental assistance and other needs such as replacing personal property. FEMA Individual Assistance is grant money that does not have to be repaid.

“Don’t wait for a Disaster Recovery Center to open in your area,” said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Michael Parker. “Register now so we can start the application process and determine whether you qualify for assistance.”

Please see DR-4317-Missouri disaster page for additional information.

Recovery Centers Open in Missouri

The centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in any of the 27 counties included in the
Missouri federal disaster declaration for flooding and severe storms that occurred between April 28 and May
11, 2017.

Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Small Business
Administration (SBA) and other agencies will be at the center to discuss assistance and to help anyone who
needs information or assistance filing an application.

Disaster survivors may visit any of the centers for assistance. Locations of recovery centers and hours may be
found online at or visit the State of Missouri’s Recovery Website at for updated information.





« Return to News

Chamber Newsletter Archive

News By Category

News By Month